A farmer named Isaac Newton Alexander purchased a large tract of land along Briar Creek in 1857. Soon after, he built a two-story grist mill on the site and hired millers to operate it. the device.
The plant processed corn and wheat for local farmers and was one of the first in the region to process cottonseed, peanut and castor oil. It operated until 1896 when the factory finally ceased operations due to the addition of larger and more efficient factories in the area.
Today, the ruins of the mill can be seen along the Briar Creek Greenway, bordering the campus of Myers Park High School. The ruins are free to explore and the site includes an information board about the mill’s history.